ourhhh

Our Happy, Healthy Home – Our continual efforts to improve our family through faith, food, and fun.

Meat Muffins

Leave a comment

Meat loaf is one of my favorite comfort foods. Unfortunately, my family has never really liked it. I could get by with serving it once every 3-4 months as long as I didn’t expect anyone to eat leftovers. When we stopped eating all grains, I thought I would just have to give up meat loaf altogether. My total lack of meal planning one night led to an amazing discovery – grain-free meatloaf that my whole family actually likes. I decided to cook our meat loaf in muffin pans to speed up the cooking process because I was in such a hurry. My kids thought that was great, so I have never tried in a loaf pan. For fun, you can make mashed sweet potatoes or mashed carrots and “ice” the muffins. Peas make great meat muffin “sprinkles.”

Meat Muffins

  • 5 lbs ground beef
  • 2 medium onions
  • 2 lbs grated carrots
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 cans organic tomato sauce
  • 2 cans organic diced tomatoes
  • 3 TBSP garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Place mixture in muffin tins filling only 3/4 of the way full. If you overfill the pans, they will dump grease all over the oven. Trust me, it is not pretty when the smoke alarm goes off during nap time because you overfilled the pans.

Bake for approximately 30 minutes. I just keep an eye on the pans and turn them as necessary to keep the muffins on the outside edges from getting too done.

Leave a Reply

